So you received your PMP Certification… Now what?

Congratulations!  All the hours of dedication and studying you put into your certification have finally paid off.  Celebrate and enjoy the moment…  You deserve it!

But, remember this is not the end of the road.  It’s important for you to continue your hard work and maintain your PMI credential.  You have come this far, you don’t want to lose your status. After passing the PMP Exam, certified Project Managers must demonstrate their commitment to the profession and continuous learning by accumulating 60 PDUs (Professional Development Units) over a 3-year period within PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program.  One PDU is equal one hour of “Learning” activity.  The purpose of PDUs is to keep you engaged, focused and growing professionally.


What are the different PDU categories?

There are 6 categories of courses and options that you can take to earn your PDUs, depending on your PMI credentials (PMP, PgMP, PMI-SP, PMI-RMP).  Below is a breakdown of the categories:

  • Category A: Courses offered by a Registered Education Providers (REP) of the PMI
  • Category B: Continuing Education or Online courses
  • Category C: Self Directed Learning
  • Category D: Creating new project management knowledge
  • Category E: Volunteer service
  • Category F: Working as a Professional in Project Management

How to plan earning PDUs online?

Breaking down the PDUs equally into 20 per year will help to eliminate any last minute cramming and rushing in the final months of the third year.  For long-term success, it is critical to undertake the time-management skills you studied for during the exam prep, keeping in mind that it is important to lead a balanced life with your personal and professional aspirations.

While considering how to tackle the PDUs, it is important that you devise and map out a thorough plan on how you are going to manage the commitment.  Many successful Project Managers utilize this opportunity to strategically incorporate the PDUs as objectives within their professional career path.  Determine which particular categories work in your situation and match your interests and specific goals.

Note: Don’t forget that you can claim 8 PDUs if your title remained “Project Manager” during the 3-year cycle after your PMP exam (check under Category F).